Our Story

In March 2012 the New Jersey Department of Education approved Democracy Prep to turn around Freedom Academy Charter School, a perennially low-performing middle school in Camden, New Jersey. The new name, Freedom Prep Charter School, reflects an adoption of Democracy Prep’s mission, DREAM values, and successful instructional practices, as well our tireless work to deliver the highest quality, college preparatory education to Camden’s scholars. In 2014-15, Freedom Prep Middle School moved into a space vacated by the recently closed D.U.E. Season Charter School, expanded to grades 1 – 9 and absorbed many of the scholars displaced by the closure. In 2017, Freedom Prep will serve scholars in grades K – 12.

Latoya Pearson


K – 5

363 Scholars

The DREAM Team

Latoya Pearson


Brittany Creighton

Instructional Coach/ACT Coordinator

Emily Cilvik

Instructional Coach/ACT Coordinator

Aurella Green

Ops Manager

Marguerite Falls

Ops Tech Associate

Jisenia Castro

Ops Associate

Andrea Mancini

Social Worker K-2

Terah Johnson

Social Worker 3-5

Thomas Lugo


Tyrone Thompson


John Coleman


Terrell Russell


June Flanagan


Danielle Kehoe

Kindergarten Teacher

Alison Pompe

Kindergarten Teacher

Casey Yarema

Kindergarten Teacher

Kimberley Ross

Kindergarten Teacher

Sara Holroyd

First Grade Teacher/Kinder-First Grade Team Leader

Vallé Rae Mundell

First Grade Teacher

Amanda Cummings

First Grade ACT Teacher

Amirah Williams

First Grade Teacher

Ann McGlauflin

Second Grade Teacher

Kathleen Klecko

Second Grade Teacher/Second Grade Team Leader

Caitlin Rafter

Second Grade Teacher

Jessica Gerstein

Second Grade ACT Teacher

Daniel Hnosko

Fourth Grade Teacher

Chazz Hinson

Third Grade Teacher

Jessica Human

Third Grade Teacher

Courtney Koos

Third Grade ACT Teacher

Kristin Bender

Fifth Grade Teacher

Carrie Daniels

Fourth Grade Teacher

Jeff Haas

Fourth & Fifth Grade Teacher

Tom Duch

Fourth Grade Teacher/FPCS Athletic Director

Brielle Ferlauto

Fourth Grade Teacher

Jerry Hudak

Fifth Grade Teacher

Emily Gillis

Fifth Grade Teacher

Lauren Burgess

Upper Academy Self-Contained Teacher

Alyssa Sergas

Lower Academy Self-Contained Teacher

Andrea Yeash

Upper Academy ELL Teacher

Kaitlin Rodrigues

Lower Academy ELL Teacher

Rachel Mifsud

Art Teacher

Bryan Kostick

PE Teacher K-2

Bryan McIntoch

PE Teacher 3-5

FPCS Board of Directors

Keisha Usher-Martin

President, Xerox

Sean McGrew

Treasurer, Catapult Learning

Carole Kraemer

Kraemer College Planning

Tighe Burns

Law Office of F. Tighe Burns, ESQ.

Amanda Vega

New Jersey Charter Schools Association

The Freedom Prep Charter School Board of Trustees will hold its regular meetings and executive committee during the 2017-18 school year at 1000 Atlantic Avenue, Camden, NJ at 6:30 pm on the following dates:

 Thursday, July 27, 2017

 Thursday, August 31, 2017 Canceled

 Tuesday, September 5, 2017

 Monday, October 2, 2017

 Thursday, October 26, 2017

 Thursday, November 30, 2017

 Thursday, December 21, 2017

 Thursday, January 25, 2018

 Thursday, February 22, 2018

 Thursday, March 29, 2018

 Thursday, April 26, 2018

 Thursday, May 31, 2018

 Thursday, June 28, 2018


Stay updated with your favorite social media channel.
Manténgase actualizado con su canal de redes sociales favorito.

FPE’s Comments, Questions or Suggestions
We highly care about your feedback. Please take a few minutes and let us know your thoughts.

Comentarios, Preguntas o Sugerencias de FPE
Nos preocupamos mucho por sus comentarios. Tómese unos minutos y háganos saber sus pensamientos.

Interactive Menu


Please visit this website to see the updated menu for our school. Here you will see what is for breakfast, lunch, and snack.  If you click on the item it will show you information like calories, etc.


Visite este sitio web para ver el menú actualizado de nuestra escuela. Aquí verá lo que es para el desayuno, el almuerzo y la merienda. Si hace clic en el elemento, le mostrará información como calorías, etc.